0

Your Cart is Empty

-71%

Anna and The Swallow Man (HB)

Dimensions: L: 14.5cm x W: 2.3cm x H: 21.3cm

Product Code: 9780553522068

Availability: In Stock

A New York Times Bestseller A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award "Exquisite." --The Wall Street Journal "This is masterly storytelling." --The New York Times Book Review A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief. Krakow, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna ania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna's father--she knows that very well--but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities. *This book may have remainder mark*

Book Title Anna and The Swallow Man (HB)
ISBN 9780553522068
By Author(s) Gavriel Savit
Publisher Knopf
Pages 240
Format Hardback
Dimensions 14.5cm x 2.3cm x 21.3cm
Notes The book images and summary displayed may be of a different edition or binding of the same title.

Subscribe