Every Day Is For The Thief

NATIONAL BESTSELLER For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications. Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud. A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the ?yahoo yahoo? diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet caf?, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market. Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life?creative, malevolent, ambiguous?and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself. In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief?originally published in Nigeria in 2007?is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You?ve never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole.*This book may have remainder mark*

Product Overview
ISBN 9780812985856
Categories BX, Contemporary Fiction, Fic20, Fiction
Author(s) Teju Cole
Publisher Random House
Pages 192
Format Paperback
Dimensions 13.5cm x 1.0cm x 20.4cm
Weight 0.17 kg
Notes The book images and summary displayed may be of a different edition or binding of the same title.

Subscribe