It All Comes Down To This

It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents' marriage is rocky. There's also her family's new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life--and her own place in it--is even more complicated than she'd once thought. Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Product Overview
ISBN 9780544839571
Categories BX, Children's Books, Reading Books, WBD
Author(s) Karen English
Publisher Clarion Books
Pages 368
Format Hardback
Dimensions 14cm x 3.6cm x 21.1cm
Weight 0.5 kg
Notes The book images and summary displayed may be of a different edition or binding of the same title.

Subscribe