0

Your Cart is Empty

-76%

Nick Hornby Collection (6 Books)

Write a review

Dimensions: L: 13cm x W: 10.5cm x H: 19.7cm

Product Code: 9780241970539

Availability: In Stock

The International Bestseller funny, wise and true - this essential collection from Nick Hornby has something for everyone - love,music,football and Life.This bookset contains 6 books namely :-

1. Fever Pitch :-

This is the Twentieth Anniversary Edition. As a young boy, growing up in the Home Counties and watching his parents' marriage fall apart, Nick Hornby had little sense of home. Then his dad took him to Highbury. Arsenal's football ground would become the source of many of the strongest feelings he'd ever have: joy, humiliation, heartbreak, frustration and hope. In this now-classic book, he vividly depicts his troubled relationship with his father,, his time as a teacher, and his first loves (after football), all through the prism of the game, as he insightfully and brilliantly explores obsession, and the way it can shape a life.

2. About a Boy:-

About a Boy" is Nick Hornby's comic and heart-warming million-copy bestseller "How cool was Will Freeman?" Too cool! At thirty-six, he's as hip as a teenager. He's single, child-free, goes to the right clubs and knows which trainers to wear. He's also found a great way to score with women: attend single parents' groups of available (and grateful) mothers, all hoping to meet a Nice Guy. Which is how Will meets Marcus, the oldest twelve-year-old on the planet. Marcus is a bit strange: he listens to Joni Mitchell and Mozart, looks after his mum and has never owned a pair of trainers. But Marcus latches on to Will - and won't let go. Can Will teach Marcus how to grow up cool? And can Marcus help Will just to grow up? This astonishing novel, now a modern classic, was adapted for the acclaimed 2002 film "About A Boy", starring Hugh Grant and Nicholas Hoult. Fans of "One Day" by David Nicholls and "Any Human Heart" by William Boyd will devour this book, as will lovers of fiction everywhere. "A stunner of a novel. Utterly read-in-one-day, forget-where-you-are-on-the-tube-gripping". (Marie Claire). "About the awful, hilarious, embarrassing places where children and adults meet, and Hornby has captured it with delightful precision". ("Irish Times"). "It takes a writer with real talent to make this work, and Hornby has it - in buckets". ("Literary Review"). Nick Hornby has captivated readers and achieved widespread critical acclaim for his comic, well-observed novels "High Fidelity", "How to be Good", "A Long Way Down" (shortlisted for the Whitbread Award), "Slam and Juliet", "Naked". His three works of non-fiction, "31 Songs" (shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award), "Fever Pitch" (winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award) and "The Complete Polysyllabic Spree" are also available from "Penguin".

3. How to be Good:-

How to be Good is Nick Hornby's hilarious bestselling novel on life, love and charity 'I am in a car park in Leeds when I tell my husband I don't want to be married to him any more...' London GP Katie Carr always thought she was a good person. With her husband David making a living as 'The Angriest Man in Holloway', she figured she could put up with anything. Until, that is, David meets DJ Goodnews and becomes a good person too. A far-too-good person who starts committing crimes of charity like taking in the homeless and giving their kids' toys away. Suddenly Katie's feeling very bad about herself, and thinking that if charity begins at home, then maybe its time to move...This laugh-out-loud novel, from the bestselling author of About a Boy and High Fidelity, will have you gripped from start to finish and will appeal to fans of David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe, as well as readers in need of a moral compass everywhere. "Pins you in your armchair ad won't let go...How to be Good? How to be bloody marvellous, more like." (Mail on Sunday). "It does exactly what it says on the cover. Hornby's prose is artful and effortless, his spiky wit as razored as a number-two cut." (Independent). "The writing is so funny, and the set-pieces so brilliant...Hornby's best book since Fever Pitch." (Lynn Truss, The Times).

4. A Long Way Down:-

A Long Way Down - Nick Hornby's hilarious bestseller about strangers and secrets 'Can I explain why I wanted to jump off the top of a tower block?' For disgraced TV presenter Martin Sharp the answer's pretty simple: he has, in his own words, 'pissed his life away'. And on New Year's Eve he's going to end it all ...but not, as it happens, alone. Because first single-mum Maureen, then eighteen-year-old Jess and lastly American rock-god JJ turn up and crash Martin's private party. They've stolen his idea - but brought their own reasons. Yet it's hard to jump when you've got an audience queuing impatiently behind you. A few heated words and some slices if cold pizza later and these four strangers are suddenly allies. But is their unlikely friendship a good enough reason to carry on living? Shortlisted for the 2005 Whitbread Award and the Commonwealth Writers Prize, A Long Way Down is a darkly hilarious and moving novel by bestselling author Nick Hornby. If you like Jonathan Coe, David Sedaris and David Nicholls, you will love this book. "A page-turning plot and rich, funny characters with several big laughs on every page...Hornby's best yet". (Literary Review). "Hornby's best novel to date, impossible to put down...how can an examination of four people's anguish be so enthralling?" (Ruth Rendell, Guardian). "Masterful ...some of the finest writing, and some of the most outstanding characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading". (Johnny Depp). Nick Hornby has captivated readers and achieved widespread critical acclaim for his comic, well-observed novels About a Boy, How to be Good, Juliet, Naked, Slam and High Fidelity. His three works of non-fiction, 31 Songs (shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award), Fever Pitch (winner of the William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award) and The Complete Polysyllabic Spree are also available from Penguin.

5. High Fidelity :-

Rob does. He keeps a list, in fact. But Laura isn't on it - even though she's just become his latest ex. He's got his life back, you see. He can just do what he wants when he wants: like listen to whatever music he likes, look up the girls that are on his list, and generally behave as if Laura never mattered. But Rob finds he can't move on. He's stuck in a really deep groove - and it's called Laura. Soon, he's asking himself some big questions: about love, about life - and about why we choose to share ours with the people we do. A million-copy bestseller, and adapted into a 2000 film starring John Cusack, High Fidelity explores the world of break-ups, make-ups and what it is to be in love. This astutely observed and wickedly funny book will be enjoyed by readers of David Nicholls and William Boyd, and by generations of readers to come.

6. Slam:-

'There was this time when everything seemed to have come together. And so obviously it was time to go and screw it all up.' Sam is sixteen and a skater. Just so there are no terrible misunderstandings: skating = skateboarding. There's no ice. Life is ticking along nicely for Sam: his mum's got rid of her rubbish boyfriend, he's thinking about college and he's met someone. Alicia. Then a little accident happens. One with big consequences for someone just finding his way in life. Sam can't run (let alone skate) away from this one. He's a boy facing a man's problems and the question is - has he got what it takes to confront them?

Book Title Nick Hornby Collection (6 Books)
ISBN 9780241970539
By Author(s) Nick Hornby
Publisher Penguin Books
Pages Varies
Format Paperback
Dimensions 13cm x 10.5cm x 19.7cm
Notes The book images and summary displayed may be of a different edition or binding of the same title.

Subscribe