Your Cart is Empty



Write a review

Dimensions: L: 12.8cm x W: 3.6cm x H: 20.4cm

Product Code: 9780345484406

Availability: In Stock

Joyce Carol Oates' Wonderland Quartet comprises four remarkable novels that explore social class in America and the inner lives of young Americans. As powerful and relevant today as it on its initial publication, them chronicles the tumultuous lives of a family living on the edge of ruin in the Detroit slums, from the 1930s to the 1967 race riots. Praised by The Nation for her potent, life-gripping imagination, Oates traces the aspirations and struggles of Loretta Wendall, a dreamy young mother who is filled with regret by the age of sixteen, and the subsequent destinies of her children, Maureen and Jules, who must fight to survive in a world of violence and danger. Winner of the National Book Award, them is an enthralling novel about love, class, race, and the inhumanity of urban life. It is, raves The New York Times, a superbly accomplished vision. Them is the third novel in the Wonderland Quartet. The books that complete this acclaimed series, A Garden of Earthly Delights, Expensive People, and Wonderland, are also available from the Modern Library.

*This book may have reminder mark*

Book Title Them
ISBN 9780345484406
By Author(s) Joyce Carol Oates
Publisher Modern Library
Pages 576
Format Paperback
Dimensions 12.8cm x 3.6cm x 20.4cm
Notes The book images and summary displayed may be of a different edition or binding of the same title.